Crock Pot Apple Crisp (No Sugar – No Butter)

This whole 40 degree-cloudy-windy-naked-tree mess that is Maine right now reminds me of fall. And slow cookers. I feel like we should be carving pumpkins and burning Autumn Spice candles and sipping on freshly pressed hot apple cider. Where are the spring feelings I felt yesterday?! I’m so confused.


Lately I’ve been trying to focus more on living in the moment and not worrying about yesterday or tomorrow. Since it’s fall today, I couldn’t think of a better way to practice that than by making slow cooker apple crisp. The only catch is there isn’t any sugar. Or butter. Or oatmeal. I swear it’s delicious! It can be served as a warm dessert or breakfast, with or without the yogurt topping.


Crock Pot Apple Crisp
Makes 8 servings
Prep: 30 mins, Cook: 4 hours
*Shapers – P1FT, omit oil if needed.

Ingredients:
7 small apples – peeled, cored, and chopped into uniform chunks
1 tbs of coconut or MCT oil
1/2 lemon
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup xylitol
1 tbs apple pie spice
1/2 tsp cloves
1 tbs arrowroot powder

Topping:
3 packages of Melba Toasts
1 tsp apple pie spice
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup finely ground xylitol (use coffee grinder if you have one)
2 tbs melted coconut or MCT oil

Optional:
greek yogurt (plain or vanilla)

Instructions:
Peel, core, and chop the apples and put in the bottom of your crock pot. Squeeze the lemon juice over the apples and stir them to coat. Stir in the coconut oil and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix the xylitol, apple pie spice, cloves, and arrowroot powder until well combined. Pour mixture over the apples and stir until they’re evenly coated.

To make the topping, combine all ingredients in a food processor and pulse until the Melba Toasts are in small chunks but not ground up too finely.

Sprinkle topping on top of apples. Cook on low for 4 hours or until it’s bubbling on the sides and apples are very tender.

Optional:
Put some greek yogurt of choice in the freezer for 15-20 minutes before apple crisp is done. Don’t leave the yogurt in the freezer too long or it will freeze solid. Top the apple crisp with yogurt and garnish with cinnamon and apple peel. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Crock Pot Apple Crisp (No Sugar – No Butter)

  1. Love the idea of making a slow cooked apple crisp. I often make this sort of thing with a bit of maple syrup or rice malt syrup but I’m yet to try xylitol. I must have a look next time I’m at the market! Regarding the melba toasts, do you make your own? I am wondering about just toasting bread and crumbling it up. As for living in the moment, I also struggle with trying to be too prepared for the future (whilst also regretting the past! Ah dear). Such a good revelation to let go and appreciate each moment as it comes. Lovely post xx

    Like

    1. Hello! I bet this would be even better with maple syrup! Right now I’m trying to keep my added sugar at zero, which is why you’ll see xylitol used in a lot of my recipes. You can absolutely replace it most of the time with your sweetener of choice. I’m not sure how it would come out if you crumbled the toast on top, but if you try that method please let me know!

      Like

Leave a comment